THE CLASSIC SPORTS GAMER

Welcome to my blog.  I created this site to share my enjoyment of classic tabletop sports games.  My tabletop sports gaming goes back to the early 1970’s.  One of the first games I played was the All-Star Baseball game designed by Ethan Allen and produced by Cadaco.  From there I graduated to the Sports Illustrated Baseball game, then on to APBA, Replay, Statis Pro, Jim Mickey’s Fastbreak Basketball, and of course Strat.

Currently, I am replaying the 1975 Major League baseball season with Replay Baseball by Replay Games.  I am using the 6 x 6 pitcher cards.

Please note some of the projects I have completed are now located at:

The Classic Sports Gamer Archives

I have completed the following projects:

A replay of the 1968 Major League Baseball season with the Strat-o-Matic Super Advance board game.

A replay of the 1971 Major League Baseball season with the APBA Baseball Master game.  A total of 1,937 games rolled.

A replay of the 1972 NFL season with the APBA Football Master game with the revised cards released in the summer of 2022.

A replay of the 1972 NBA finals with the APBA Pro Basketball game.

A replay of the 1974 NBA finals with the Strat Advanced Basketball Game.

(Note:  After trying the original version of the Strat game, I snipped and printed out the card images to play the games as the board game).

A replay of the 1974 Bengals season using the TSG I by Gamecraft.

A replay of the 1979 Bengals season using the classic version (Big Board) of the APBA Pro Football game.

A replay of the 1981 Bengals season using the Advanced version of the Strat-O-Matic Pro Football game. 

A replay of the 1984 NBA playoffs with the Jim Mickey Fast Break Basketball game.

A replay of the 1984 Major League Baseball season with the Statis Pro Baseball game.

A replay of the 1985 Bengals season using the Statis Pro Football game.

A replay of the 1985 NBA finals using the Hoops Tabletop Basketball game.

A replay of the 1991 Lions season using the APBA Football Master game.

A replay of the 1992-93 Atlanta Hawks season using the Replay Basketball game.

A replay of the 2005 Bengals season using the APBA Football Master game.

A replay of the 2018 NBA finals using the SSG Basketball game from Sideline Strategy Games.

I look forward to sharing my thoughts on each game I play and the results from the replays.

2 thoughts on “THE CLASSIC SPORTS GAMER”

Leave a comment